The Taruskin Challenge’s 200th Post

 

(click on the image for a bigger scale)

Many weeks and pages after beginning our project, The Taruskin Challenge has reached its 200th post. To commemorate, I used a handy tool to create this visual representation of the content of our blog. What you see here is a scaled representation of the words in all of our posts and all of the comments up through our 199th post (all 150,000 of them, give or take). Greater size indicates greater frequency of the word (common English words like “and” or “to” are discounted). It’s an interesting and, I think, insightful way to look back over the project so far, as we approach its end.

4 Comments

  1. Mark Samples says:

    Most of these were no surprise to me. Music, musical, history, composer, Taruskin—all of these are the building blocks of our discussion. I was pleasantly surprised to see the “youtube” reference so prominently displayed, meaning that we posted a good number of musical examples.

  2. Mark Samples says:

    Words I wish were more prominent on this list: FOP, passus duriusculus, feint.

  3. Johnie says:

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after going through a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  4. Clarice says:

    I have learn a few excellent stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you place to make this sort of magnificent informative website.

Leave a Comment